BD Players & BD PQ

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Been reading elsewhere reviews of both the Sony PS3 slim and S760. In terms of playback of BD 1080p/24, it suggests (if I'm reading it right), following extensive testing using the Spears & Munsil Blu-ray benchmark test disc, that there's no difference in PQ between the slim and pretty much every other BD player except for the S760, which has the HD Reality Enhancer.

Now I have 2 standalone Panny BD players aswell as a fat PS3 and I used to think there was a definate improvement in BD PQ from the Panny's compared to the PS3 but I'm no expert. However, if all BD players play 1080p/24 flawlessly, purely in terms of PQ, why is there any point in paying say £700 for a mid to high end BD player when you can get say, a Sony S360 for £100?

Is this another situation where we're getting duped along the same lines as the expensive HDMI cables argument? Or is there a genuine difference in PQ?

I tend to think there is a difference but I'd be interested to hear the views of those more knowledgeable on this forum.

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
In our experience although there's not humungous difference between the PS3 and other (good) similar-priced players in terms of static picture quality, it's motion that you find the most noticeable difference; in side-by-side comparative testing with the same scene, the PS3 doesn't have quite the slickness of the best dedicated players.

But then those players aren't much cop at playing games - and very few can handle media streaming; offer storage etc etc. The PS3 remains a stunning all-rounder that may suit many homes as best bet.

Move up to the likes of the Sony '760 and not only will you benefit from better picture quality (more apparant the larger/ better-quality your display), but a noticeable sonic improvement, too (again, especially if you have the kit to do it justice).