B&W 804S vs MONITOR AUDIO SILVER 8

Hello people.

I am new to this world.

I have a turntable (Project) and prephono tube box (Project) and i need to buy speakers and amplifier.

I need you to help me to take decision between this:

Monitor Audio Silver 8 (brand new speaker)

or

B&W 804 S (second hand.. 5 years old).

I have listened to both with the same amplifier (Cambridge Audio CAX80) and obviously the B&W sounds bettter, but i have to say the Silver 8 is pretty good.

Price of both speakers are very similar:

Silver 8: 1500 euros

B&W 804s: 1.700 euros

only problem is that i am scared to buy a second hand speaker, but actually looks like new.

Help!!!

Try and get a home demo of both if you can . those amps are definitely more towards what the b&w's need to shine,where are you based josep and what other products can you get access to,also it would be helpful to know about the size of the listening room,is it heavily furnished or of a more sparsely furnished nature and what type of flooring is in it also

where are the speakers going to be sited within the room and the type of music you listen to.PS..that seems like an awful lot of money for the monitor audio's.I used to own a pair from new and they cost £750 gbp and they just aren't in the same league as the b&w's,Don't worry about them being second hand,it sounds like they've been well looked after and will give years of music listening pleasure.

Try and get some soft furnishings into the area . large rug,some curtains etc can help the acoustics of a room like yours.but definitely try a home demo and look for more of a warm sounding amplifier,hopefully other forum members will be along with some helpful answers.

ID.

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site
The 804S without hesitation.

I used to run PMC DB1i with a sub and I felt it easily outperformed the MAs. The Silver weren't bad by any means, but you can do better for the money.

Josep Fernández Marsal said:
Hello people.

I am new to this world.