Arcam AVR280 + possible Arcam Muso/Logo. Music listening options?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all, after many changes of direction looking for speakers to go with my Arcam AVR280, I've now come accross a one of chance to purchase a set of Muso/Logo 5.1 speakers for £500 which sounds like a deal too good to miss.

The only problem is I was really looking primerally for a set of stereo speakers(and even then on a budget) as music is of great importance to me.

I know in direct stereo mode the receiver runs off the two front speakers only and no sub so obviously the muso's alone are not going to carry much bass here(I mainly listen to hiphop drum & bass and electronica so this does concern me).

Now I am an audiophile noob but if I understand this correctly I have two options(well, a third if listening to cds in 5.1 sounds good through these speakers which I have no idea). Option 1 is to wire an additional pair of speakers into the zone 2(not sure if this still works with the direct stereo mode though), the Mordaunt Short Avant 902i would be my best option as they're about the only speaker I would have budget left to afford and sound pretty reasonable, and drawbacks with this method that anyone can see? Option 2 would be to look into an additional piece of equipment that allows me to integrate the sub into the direct stereo mode, but to be honest I have no idea where to start with this and if it would be do-able on a budget(which is pretty much used up, could maybe afford £100.

If anyone has any advise for me I would really appreciate it, obviously have to make my mind up quick time on the muso/logo bundle as it I doubt it'll sit around for long.

Thanks in advance.

A

Anonymous

ok, no repies yet but will keep trying as have a further option/complication now
emotion-42.gif