anything i can do to improve my sound??

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hey guys,

so after around 5 years of using logitech z-5500 5.1 i decided to upgrade and go for a kick ass 2.0/2.1 system...

Im a total newbie at this stuff and all i do is play music (FLAC/lossless) and am VERY into my music (all types from dnb to classical), anyway after a while of researching i noticed many people resorting to studio monitors for this type of thing, i wanted clarity coupled with power... monitors, from what i understand, give you good sound for bang for buck, and my budget was around 600euro.

so i narrowed my search down to yamaha hs80m vs rokit rp8.

the local store who imports these (i live in a tiny country called Malta :) so not many distributors here) woudln't let me have a listen to them, pity i know, anyway i took the plunge and went for the yammies based on all the rave reviews praising them. i knew i was in for a flat sounding, less sparkly speaker and what i was after most of all was clarity.

so i bought them and as an interface the guy recommended the NI audio 2 (traktor), it was pretty cheap at 95euro, so i took his word and got that with the speakers, all to hook up to my 2011 27' imac.

Anyway, my initial impression was so and so, they are REALLY clear and crisp (slightly fatiguing) but they sounded different to what i was expecting. They do a great job of presenting the sound without any bells and whistles thats for sure and i was hoping that there is some way i can make them "sparkle" a bit more if you know what i mean. (kind of like my friend's m-audio av 40's which seem to make everything sound damn good) (i believe 'warmer' is the term im looking for ;p)

Anyway, basically my question to you is this.....will getting a DAC over my currrent audio interface (ni audio 2) make any difference and give me what im looking for?