Question Anime nait 5si

Gonepostal

Apr 26, 2014
Visit site
Morning all, Judy a quick question re this amp. Is it necessary to use special speaker wire. I've been reading on line that you need to use it to get the full benefit of the amp.

Thanks for any help.

Regards.

D

Deleted member 195594

Some Naim purists insist that using Naim's own NAC A5 cable is the only way to go. This was true for older Naim amps, but the Nait 5si is not in that category.

I've owned the 5si and the XS2 quite recently and have not used Naim's speaker cable on either.

The older amps are engineered in such a way that the NAC A5 was an integral component to the functioning of the amps (I'm no engineers so don't totally understand the principles involved, but this info is out there on the Web if you care to look deeper in to it.

The later amps, such as the 5si, XS series, and Supernaits do not have this limitation.

I last looked at this a couple of months ago, and Naim’s generic manual for integrated amps still cautions about using their own wire and a minimum length of 3.5m too.

As @painter24 says, the newer ones should be fine as you use decent ‘audiophile’ cable from the likes of Chord, Atlas, QED. Avoid weird woven stuff that might have extreme capacitance or anything with boxes fitted! Best of all, for 100% certainty, ask Naim or your dealer directly.

See section 1.2 on page E1 here…

Last edited:

twinkletoes

Nov 16, 2021
Visit site
Unfortunately, or rather fortunately not.
Any amp manufacturer that insists their devices will not function correctly without using their cables is best avoided......