Advice on set up - Onkyo 606

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
After reading all the reviews I bought the Onkyo 606 and KEF 3005se last weekend. I'm a novice so asked the shop for advice on setup. The guy in the shop said to connect SkyHD and the DVD player direct to the TV via HDMI and use optical or component to connect into the receiver for sound. The Onkyo manual suggests connecting both into the receiver via HDMI and then output to the TV which I have done. Which is best?

Also, how do I set it up to have the sound come through the TV speakers when the wife just wants to be able to turn the TV on and watch it rather than having to mess with different remotes to sort out the sound, i.e. not turn the receiver on?

Any advice appreciated.

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
Do it the way the chap in the shop suggested and your wife will be able to watch without the receiver being on, as the HDMIs will carry audio to the TV.

Is your DVD player an upscaling one? If not, that - along with the convenience of sound and vision being switched by the receiver - would be the main reason to conect it through the 606, as the receiver's upscaling would then improve the DVD picture. But if the DVD upscales, then it's fine to connect it straight to the TV.

And yes, you will need the optical digital connections if you connect both Sky HD and DVD straight to the TV - it's also worth using the optical feed even if you connect Sky by HDMI via the Onkyo, as the sound on the Sky HD HDMI connection is only stereo. You need optical digital for the surround sound available on some broadcasts.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the advice. The DVD player is the Sony RDR-HXD860, i'm sure how good it is at upscaling - anyone know?

Anyway, so far not been blown away by my purchase. After all the 5 stars and reviews I was expecting the 606 & 3005SE's to have a massive impact. So where have I gone wrong? (I have been through the auto setup which made big difference).