Absolute beginner eager for advice

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello audiophiles,

I'm all new to hi-fi and just started reading into the topic. After minor brain haemorrhage when I browsed the stereophile webpages, a friend was kind enough to direct me towards somewhat lighter literature here.

Unfortunately, I'm a (poor) student, so my budget is limited (one of the reasons why stereophile gave me headaches). Thus I decided I should start research well before purchase.

My plan is to hook a DAC up to my PC and use the digital out of my onboard sound-chip (I believe that is SPDIF). I'm currently eyeing the Beresford TC-7510, but couldn't find anything on eBay yet. Is there a big difference to the TC-7520, or are the essentially identical besides the USB-port?

As for the integrated amplifier, I'm almost clueless. The CA 340A seems to match my needs (well, actually I don't know my needs quite yet, since I have no speakers). Of course, I'd be more than happy to fetch something off eBay for cheap - any suggestions?

Speakers are the usual suspects from the "well-below-£200" class.
  • Q 2010
  • MS 902i
  • CA S30
  • Tannoy F1
I briefly browsed eBay for speakers as well and there seem to be quite a few B&W DM602 sales. Are these any good?

I'd be happy for all kind of input and criticism. The plan is to get the most out of as little money as possible.

Many thanks and toddle-pip,

Mike

Big Chris

Apr 3, 2008
Visit site
I own a pair of 602 S3 (Series 3, there are also S1 & S2s, S3s are the best.
emotion-4.gif
)

They originally retailed at £300 and they are great speakers. If you're happy to purchase second hand I'd recommend them without reservation (Also check out 601s, which are a bit smaller)

A

Anonymous

There's a few people on here that know a LOT about second hand kit. I'm sure they'll be along shortly to give you some good value recommendations for excellent older kit.

Marco.

Edit: Beat me to it. :)

A

Anonymous