Abrahamsen V.20-Upgrade

The Mad One

Mar 8, 2013
Visit site
Well its been 5 days since my V.20 Amp's been back from having the upgrade and well what can i say the V.20 in my eyes is an absolute steel having sounding better than my old amp from a year ago before i was forced to sell all my hifi due a redundency (Roksan Caspian M2). so at £699 this amp will stomp on any amp upto £2000 in my eyes.

Then i had the itch to have the amp upgraded to the UP and well when it returned i couldnt wait to get it fired up and get some serious play and well im not gonna lie i was gutted it sounded bloody awful way to bassy uninvolving bland OMG i thought what have i done i kept thinking to myself as i was listening to more and more music idiot "if aint broken don't " motto. sad.

5days later after a tweek with the speakers bringing them forward and closer only by a few inches its a complete revolation now im no expert but this amp has finally settled down the bass is very strong but deep controlled and well detailed and fast.

Midrange is to die for i can hear every little pluck of a guitar,harp,violin, voices well its like having the artist in the room playing right in front of you, you could almost touch them when your eyes are closed (weird i know)

Top end is as smooth as ever absolute no harshnes shrill even when you play loud and trust me this amp will go loud without even braking out a sweat.

Now i know ive got budget speakers but theyre sounding totally more like a pair off speakers sounding twice if not three times there price.

A few tracks i always play to hear how a my hifi sounds.

Japan: Ghosts it sounds so good even though its 30 years plus David sylvian voice is a bewt.

Howard Jones : hide and seek just envolves you with its earry sound wow.

Bronski beat: Small town boy (Akoustic mix) very airy the guitar is so smooth the whole track is soo mellow i just love it.