5.1 surround setup with 5.1 or 7.1 receiver?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

This is most likely a noob question, but I've been reading a lot about the new HD audio formats like Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD master audio and I would like these properly decoded.. However, I do not have the room for a 7.1 setup, so i am going to buy the HKTS 11 (as the Q acoustics 1010i are too expensive to order outside the UK). (If someone has better suggestions for that budget, please feel free to share also).

Now for my receiver, I've been looking around and the Yamaha RX-V565 seems very interesting. Unfortunately I dont find many professional reviews, so I cant really tell. I'm also not an expert on these things and listening in a shop won't always make me much wiser. I do however want the best bang for my buck.

Some features that I really need:

- 4 HDMI inputs
- ofc 1 HDMI output ;)
- 1 optical input

- decoding of all new HD formats and most older formats and being able to output this on my 5.1 speaker setup!
- radio function is a plus , but most have this
- analog to HDMI upscaling and HDMI - HDMI upscaling, although if this is lacking, its not a deal breaker as my tv can scale too. (Samsung LE52B750)
- and of course very clear and good sound. Preferably something that is able to perform a nice job for music as well. I read that the yamaha isnt able to include his subwoofer when he's doing stereo music. Considering my HKTS 11 front speakers probably can't handle much bass, this would be a negative.

- multizone function would be great, and this would probably the biggest reason to take a 7.1 over a 5.1 receiver.

Should i go with the yamaha, or could i spend my money on a decent 5.1 receiver instead? I do notice that most current 5.1 receivers are not able to decode TrueHD and others.

Thank you very much for your reply :)

EDIT: