Your thoughts please.

winty

Feb 22, 2022
Visit site
Hello, I am a newbie so please be patient.
I have a small upstairs (spare room) brick walled music room.About 3 metre Square.
I listen to a wide range of music and have just purchased some Wharfedale diamond 9.1s(a replacement for my Diamond 9s) which are mounted on Mission stands.Amplifier is a Cambridge audio Topaz AM5.
Front end is a Lenovo tablet with Tidal app loaded and I pay for their Hi Fi plus streaming service.
Sound is lovely.
But my question is...........what would you upgrade next ,Amplifier or is front end the limiting factor? (given that Tidal software seems very good)
I love listening to the likes of Dave Brubeck, Ricki Lee Jones, Nina Simone.ie simple compositions not complex multi layer studio creations.
Punchy , dynamic sound is my goal, love to hear individual instruments shouting out , Sax, Double bass etc. I was looking at the Onkyo 9110 amp, but am unsure.
What do you think?

winty

Feb 22, 2022
Visit site
I am, I use a cable with 3.5 mm jack to 2 phono
Rather than amps front panel headphone socket.
I would spend £500 , but don't want to spend a lot more.
I have abandoned my 60 plus CDs and Cambridge cd player in favour of streaming.

Tinman1952

I am, I use a cable with 3.5 mm jack to 2 phono
Rather than amps front panel headphone socket.
I would spend £500 , but don't want to spend a lot more.
I have abandoned my 60 plus CDs and Cambridge cd player in favour of streaming.
You see you are currently using the cheapo DAC in the 'noisy' laptop so my first suggestion would be to connect a good inexpensive USB DAC like a Topping D10s via the USB output and connect that to your Cambridge amp.

winty

Feb 22, 2022
Visit site
You see you are currently using the cheapo DAC in the 'noisy' laptop so my first suggestion would be to connect a good inexpensive USB DAC like a Topping D10s via the USB output and connect that to your Cambridge amp.
Thanks for that.