Yamaha 863 or Onkyo 876? Newbie needs advice!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

I am new in the hifi world, but I did my research and listened to my choices in a few HiFi stores. Speakers were easy for me, I fell for the Monitor Audio RS6 floorstanders and a RS-LCR center speaker. Now I have some old sub and surround speakers lying around to fill up the 5.1 space until I can upgrade those, but I am still undecided about the receiver...

In store I thought the Yamaha 863 sounded best, but after some more surfing I think the Onkyo 876 is very nice as well. Can anyone advice me if these two are in the same league? Price is not much of an issue, I'd rather choose the best receiver if it costs a little bit more; but is the Onkyo much better then the Yamaha? If I read the reviews here the Yamaha is cheaper and probably better; but the guy in the store said that the Onkyo 806 was much better then the Yamaha 863, and I understand the 876 is better than the 806... My mind is so twisted about this choice that I decided to ask for help here! Thanks in advance!!

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
When the Awards were given out, the RRP on the Yamaha was £600, while it was £1,000 for the 876 so I don't think they would be in the same category personally - although they are actually not far off in price now (around £600 and £700 now respectively so the Onkyo has come down a lot). I have no idea which is better, since you've heard the 863, it's probably a good idea to have a listen to the 876 and see which you prefer. At the closer end of £1,000, you could also look at the Yamaha RXV1900 and the Onkyo 906 which will be another step up in quality.

ÿ

A

Anonymous

professorhat: