XB1 and PS4 Audio

Tonestar1

Or you could add one of these

31lko2c3-UL.jpg

£12 from amazon but you may be able to find cheaper.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Digital-Optical-Coaxial-Toslink-Converter/dp/B0074JZ8ZW

cheeseboy

Jul 17, 2012
Visit site
manicm said:
I'm talking about connecting the console to your hifi/AV system for sound.

yeh I got that, but there's loads of ways you could connect it up for sound using convertors like tonestar1 has shown, or using the output jacks that you would plug the headsets in to.

Nothing a quick google wouldn't have turned up.

cheeseboy

Jul 17, 2012
Visit site
manicm said:
Nah, don't want to fiddle with headsets etc, seems I need to rethink my entire hifi system. Also, I'm a newbie to consoles.

I never said using a headset, i said you could use the connections where the headsets are meant to go in to.... :wall:

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
manicm said:
cheeseboy said:
manicm said:
Nah, don't want to fiddle with headsets etc, seems I need to rethink my entire hifi system. Also, I'm a newbie to consoles.

I never said using a headset, i said you could use the connections where the headsets are meant to go in to.... :wall:

How well that would work is anyone's guess...

It would give you perfectly adequate stereo audio, at a guess.

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
cheeseboy said:
manicm said:

The head sets connect into an audio output on the game controller (which is wireless), so you coudn't really connect this to your hifi. There's no analogue outputs at all on the consoles.

I'm guessing both Sony and Microsoft thought the numbers of people who would need them are very few in number i.e. most people either connect via HDMI or optical to a TV or an AV receiver. So, in the pursuit of cutting costs / making room for slimmer consoles, analogue outputs have been removed -it's getting increasingly common now. Best bet I guess is a cheap (or expensive if you wish) DAC with an optical input.

cheeseboy

Jul 17, 2012