Which to buy / upgrade

murphczx

Mar 11, 2015
Visit site
Hi, I am relatively new to Hi-Fi and have decided to spend some money on an upgrade. My config is an Arcam FMJ A18 integrated amp and a Denon DBT 3313 UD and Monitor Audio RX2 speakers. I have approx £300 to spend. ....on what ?

I was thinking of may be a Power Amp...Arcam P85 or P90 or may be a DAC - not sure which . Any views on what either will give me. I am thinking of upgrading my speakers in a couple of monhs to MA Gold. Sticking with MA due to pleaeing sound, cosmetics and value.

Any views?

Thanks

bluedroog

Mar 4, 2010
Visit site
Your system looks quite well balanced to me, there are countless ways to spend your £300 pounds but I susepct you'd only feel it in your wallet, resist the urge as it will be a sidewways step where ever you spend it in my opinion.

DACs make don't make cost effective upgrades and I'd be srpsied if you could better your anmp or speakers for the money, a power amp won't make a whole lot of differnece either as tweeters take such little load you'd not be taking that much strain off the intergrated Arcam.

I think looking at speakers suhc as the Kef LS50 would be were you'd start to really feel the jump in quality.

bluedroog said:
Your system looks quite well balanced to me, there are countless ways to spend your £300 pounds but I susepct you'd only feel it in your wallet, resist the urge as it will be a sidewways step where ever you spend it in my opinion.

DACs make don't make cost effective upgrades and I'd be srpsied if you could better your anmp or speakers for the money, a power amp won't make a whole lot of differnece either as tweeters take such little load you'd not be taking that much strain off the intergrated Arcam.

I think looking at speakers suhc as the Kef LS50 would be were you'd start to really feel the jump in quality.