Total noob wanting to start HiFi-ing!

Prox

Mar 11, 2016
Visit site
Hello there!

After chatting with my friend who is big into his HiFi's, its made me want one real bad. I'm massively into my music and apprceiate sound quality. I have some nice AudioTechnica Headphones and a Bose mobile speaker for travelling, but now i'm moving into a new place, I want a substanstial system that I can either hook up to my MacBook/iPod and or my television. I want to spend the max of like 200/300 quid, just for a base system that can be loud with acceptable quality. I listen to a wide variety of music, but predominantly Metal, Electronic and Hip Hop. I would not be against a vintage set-up but I don't know if this would come with some headaches!

My friend is very thrifty and doesn't like buying things new and I was just wondering how viable it is to go onto Gumtree and buying all the components I need (speakers/amp/source) after checking their reviews and just putting them together ?

I literally know nothing about wiring amps and speakers etc. I have tried googling to find beginner guides to putting together a hifi system. For example, I look at speakers for sale and some have a specific jack-style input and some have an input in which you strip the wire and connect (hope you understand what I mean).

If someone could explain how I could put together a budget system going down to bare basics or point me towards a noob-friendly guide? Or would it be better to buy a £99 system from Richer sounds and then build from there?

Any help would be much appreciated, I know this is a sincerely amateur question on probably quite a technical forum, but it's something I'm really interested in getting involved with!

thanks!! Alex

davedotco

Apr 24, 2013
Visit site
Given your budget and requirements, you can do this one of two ways.