The ideal listening room?

CJSF

May 25, 2011
Visit site
. . . 'not!' my study, hifi room is far from perfect, although I supose I am luck to have a dedicated room 8) See the nexst post for continuation and pic.,:

CJSF

May 25, 2011
Visit site
CJSF said:
. . . 'not!' my study, hifi room is far from perfect, although I supose I am luck to have a dedicated room 8) See the next post for continuation and pic.,:

Silly aint it . . .

. . . any old how, here is a unflattering picture of my less than ideal listening room:

700Speakersdoorrw.jpg

Almost 12 foot square, a square room is a pain to start with but I dont have any options. I've been fighting the room for a few months now, fighting . . . ? its not been that bad, the 9 foot celling helps, I think?

The main problem is the speakers are a tad close at 5 feet but the doors and record rack dictate the available positioning space. There has always been a sound reflection from the records and I dont sit quite central to the speakers on the sofa. These two problems I have always countered by slight left balance on the amp, which has always bugged me.

So a little bit of asymmetric speaker adjustment helped a lot, but I was still not entirely happy!!! The door to the kitchen on the left has always been used as a corner baffle, the angle was important but one did not realise how important. Hazel came in the room this afternoon and moved the door, I was listening to some classical music . . . . the image became so focused . . . wow, dont move that door! I put a restrained on the door, a bit of garden twine tied to the back of the speaker stand with a loop on the end that sets the door to the correct angle. When set, unhook the loop and it hangs down the back of the stand unseen.

. . . :rofl: £4,000 worth of hifi and simple 2ft of garden twine is the make or break . . . :wall: Who said tweaking was unnecessary, it just requires thought and being aware to get things right.