Speakers for classical music

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
My current system is Cambridge Audio Azur 640 v2 CD player, 640 v2 DAB tuner and 640 amplifier connected with Azur Reference interconnects. I updated these components from the old CA 500 series but have not yet updated my speakers and speaker cables. The existing versions are Eltax LR6.5 speakers with Gale XL 315 bi-wire speaker cable.

I listen only to classical music and opera, and was considering the Dali Lektor 1's on Soundstyle Z2 stands with QED Silver Anniversary-XT cables. I'm also willing to consider floorstanders.

Does anyone know if this is overkill for my system, and if so is there anything else out there?

Thanks everyone.

A

Anonymous

I'm no expert, but to my ears the Italian brands sound the best with classical, followed by the some of the models from Canton. Vienna acoustics are also rated highly.

Sadly, in my case anyway, none of these are budget models.

batonwielder

May 13, 2008
Visit site
KeithBraidwood, you can do much better than the Dali's if your budget would allow.

If you read some of my other posts you will notice that I listen to classical music only, and I have asked basically the same questions.

Budget speakers can handle classical music fairly well but you will have to set your musical goal.

For now, do away with QED cables and Dali's. Don't assemble a system according to reviews and ratings.

What is your budget and room size?

A

Anonymous

batonwielder:
KeithBraidwood, you can do much better than the Dali's if your budget would allow.

If you read some of my other posts you will notice that I listen to classical music only, and I have asked basically the same questions.

Budget speakers can handle classical music fairly well but you will have to set your musical goal.

For now, do away with QED cables and Dali's. Don't assemble a system according to reviews and ratings.

What is your budget and room size?