SPDIF - into a DAC will this work???

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi my pc has a intergrated sound card with a SPDIF out (looks to be a RCA socket) are there any DAC's on the market for under 200 that can take in digital audio from a SPDIF cable?

or do I just use the a USB socket?

if I have the choice which is best to use?

Thanks in advance.

Face.

A

Anonymous

also, my music is on itunes and is a mix of AAC and itunes lossless files will Dacs play these files?

Edit: this shoul be obviouse, I am rather new to computer audio!

Gerrardasnails

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
theface:
Hi my pc has a intergrated sound card with a SPDIF out (looks to be a RCA socket) are there any DAC's on the market for under 200 that can take in digital audio from a SPDIF cable?

or do I just use the a USB socket?

if I have the choice which is best to use?

Thanks in advance.

Face.

DacMagic is £200 and takes a signal from SPDIF, coaxial or USB and yes, all those formats will work fine.

John Duncan

Depends which one you buy - some are USB only, some are optical/digital (ie SPDIF) only. At 200, the DACMagic is the obvious choice as it has all three, though I would use the SPDIF electrical connection rather than USB.

Anything your media player can play can be recognised by a DAC, basically.

A

Anonymous

Hi thanks for confirming all that, will the Beresford Dac at £100ish do the same job?

John Duncan

Yes, though I don't know if it has USB in addition to SPDIF inputs (an owner will confirm shortly, I expect). And will do almost as good a job, but without the pretty blue lights
emotion-2.gif

A

Anonymous

sound,
emotion-21.gif

Despite the blue lights of the cambirdge Dac matching my samsung monitors power indicator, for £100 ish i think I'll have a go with the Beresford as i do have the SPDIF out on my sound card (though having said that wont be able to use a laptop) have to think a bit about this one.