Sony STR-DA1200ES volume question

DirectPlay16

Apr 4, 2016
Visit site
Hi guys

I am completely new to the wonderful world of AV receivers, so please go gentle on me!! I bought a second hand Sony STR-DA1200ES with Tannoy speakers. I have a Samsung TV, PS3, a YouView box.

Here is my setup: 5 speakers and a sub connected to the receiver. The PS3 and YouView box connected to the TV using HDMI and digital optical cable connecting the TV and the receiver. I set the audio output on YouView to "Surround". I didn't make any changes to the PS3 Audio settings.

Couple of questions:

1. The volume on the speakers when I am watching YouView or PS3 (basically output from TV) has to be set to quite high -25 to -30, but if I switch to Tuner, the sound is quite loud for -25 to -35. I have to set it to about -40 for Tuner. So any reason why the sound played from TV at -25 to -30 is a lot quieter than the sound played from Tuner?

2. The 4 speakers are all the same make and model (excluding the centre), but when I connect 2 of the speakers as surround, they don't work. They work when I connect them as Front speakers. So now I have all 4 speakers connected as Front speakers. My question is do I need to buy specific surround speakers or these speakers should work? If they should work, then what am I doing wrong?

B

BIGBERNARDBRESSLAW

I used to have a 2400ES, but it was several years ago, and I've forgotten how it all worked.

I can answer one question, you don't need specific speakers for surrounds, the ones you have will work, though do remember that surrounds, unlike your fronts, aren't always outputting any sound.

Your problem will be somewhere either in the receiver's settings.

Here is a link to the operating instructions and installation guide.

What make and model is the youview box?

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site