Should I go with all one brand when setting up a new system?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all. I am relatively new to high-end audio systems and am on the verge of setting up a new system. At this stage, at the top of the list is a Rega Brio-R amp, a Rega DAC and Rega RS-1 speakers. My first question is what advantages, if any, do people think I would gain by going with components with all one brand?

Second, what do people think of this specific set-up? I'd be listening to mainly vocal, acoustic and classical music in a rooma bout 4m by 4m. It must soudn good at relatively low volumes.

Third, do I really need a DAC?

Many thanks in advance! Simon

Sizzers

Jun 20, 2008
Visit site
The amp and speakers should most definitely be on your shortlist to audition for the type of music you’ll be listening to.

With regards to needing a DAC that will depend upon what you’re going to be using as a source.

A

Anonymous

Thanks, Sizzers. Yes, should have said: I'll initally mainly be streaming uncompressed files from my computer and possibly compressed ones from an iPhone.

My path to my current situation was that I began looking for high-end wireless speakers but found even the best woefully unsatisfactory mainly because you couldn't listen in stereo! (What's the point?) So, after a bit more research, I thought I should go for something as sweet-sounding as I could afford and just make it wireless (and add other components -- eg a turntable -- as I went on).

S

Sizzers

Jun 20, 2008
Visit site
Well in that case you do need a DAC.

Fellow member Steve Brock has exactly the same all-Rega set-up you’re thinking of so I’m sure he’ll be along at some point (not so sure he’s an acoustic/vocals type of guy, though, but could be wrong).