Rotel 06 Se or 1520?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Im new to hi fi..... Can someone advise if its worth choosing the 1520 or RA-06 SE? or may be Ra 05 Se? with my Monitor Audio BR 5 speakers. Thank you.

A

Anonymous

I recently upgraded from the RA-06 to the RA-1520 and the 1520 is far better, sweeter and much better imaging. For me is a no brainer.

A

Anonymous

Last month I upgraded from Rotel 05 to Rotel 1520. Classical music sounds (at last) right. But the control of bas is much better too. Chemical Brothers the first track of We Are The Night CD was too complicated for Rotel 05 with the new amp it is well controlled and you get the music not chaos. And the stereo effect (when the speakers are 4 feet from the wall) unbelievable! I use B@W 685. And during audition I heard and compared 685 with CM5. In one track in Andreas Vollenweider CD CM 5 played two sounds (low ones) when 685 just one! So my advice is: Rotel 1520 but the speakers ( later)... get Monitor Audio Silver RX 6 or better

smbmetal

Sep 8, 2007
Visit site
I wonder if the Rotel 1520 would be better than my current setup of a Rotel RC-03 pre-amp and 2 x Rotel RB-03 power amps running in bridged mono mode? I have a need to reduce these 3 boxes to one
emotion-6.gif

smbmetal

Sep 8, 2007
Visit site
MUSICRAFT:

Hi smbmetal

I would say no. If you have to reduce the component count and would prefer Rotel then please also consider their RA-1062 as imo it is the finest amp they've produced in the last ten years.

All the best

Rick @ Musicraft

Hi Rick,

I thought so
emotion-6.gif
Is the RA-1062 still for sale do you know? Do you know how much I would need to spend to equal the quality of my current setup with just one amplifier?

Thanks,

Simon.

A

Anonymous

MUSICRAFT:
Hi smbmetal

I would say no. If you have to reduce the component count and would prefer Rotel then please also consider their RA-1062 as imo it is the finest amp they've produced in the last ten years.

All the best