Rega Elex-R vs Musical Fidelity M2si?

JoelOman

Mar 27, 2020
Visit site
Hello Forum!

Quick question, no elaborate answer needed. Running a Network Streamer and really easily driven 8ohm speakers.

Which amp to get of these two?

Thanks!

JoelOman

Mar 27, 2020
Visit site
Currently at Sevenoaks SAV the MF is £100 off at £699. The Rega is £949.

I would go for a demo, but I’d be tempted to save £250.

Well, as a Swedish resident, I'd probably have to pay some high import taxes... 😳 (In Sweden, they are 10990SEK ~£926 and 9990SEK ~£842 respectively)

Well, as a Swedish resident, I'd probably have to pay some high import taxes... 😳 (In Sweden, they are 10990SEK ~£926 and 9990SEK ~£842 respectively)
If the Rega is cheaper then that’s an easy decision. Is there nothing Scandinavian that appeals, like Electrocompaniet, or Primare, for example? Obviously I don’t know your local prices.

JoelOman

Mar 27, 2020
Visit site
If the Rega is cheaper then that’s an easy decision. Is there nothing Scandinavian that appeals, like Electrocompaniet, or Primare, for example? Obviously I don’t know your local prices.

The Rega is the more expensive one. Electrocompaniet is too expensive and Primare only makes Class-D amps. I like the warmth and feel of the Class A-B amps. Also, I'm looking for a "Purist" amp, so no Digital connectors / DACs and the likes of those.

JoelOman

Mar 27, 2020
Visit site

Hehe, if I had the money, I'd probably directly go for the Exposure 2510. But that's almost twice the price of the MF... (17995SEK)

The Rega is the more expensive one. Electrocompaniet is too expensive and Primare only makes Class-D amps. I like the warmth and feel of the Class A-B amps. Also, I'm looking for a "Purist" amp, so no Digital connectors / DACs and the likes of those.