PC into Hi-Fi...

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
No doubt a topic which has been covered before - but I'm new so I'm sure you'll all forgive me?!?!

I have gigabyte after gigabyte of digital music (mostly hi bit-rate sampled) as well as a massive CD collection.

Rather than connecting my iPod into my hi-fi - I choose to go down the route of connecting my PC to it - makes sense as my music collection is larger than the capacity of my iPod.

The way I do it currently works for me - but I thought I would ask people who are clearly more knowledgable than I in these circles for some input...

So currently, I run my PC using a 3.5mm jack to stereo RCA cable into the aux channel on my hi-fi. The lead was not a £5 Argos 'special', but is nowhere near the quality of the Chord and Audison cabling that I use in the rest of my system. If memory serves, the cable was approx £49 and does at least benefit from shielding and decent(ish) connections. I'm also a keen guitarist and run a piece of software on my PC called Guitar Port - which links to a small 'controller' which allows me to play and record guitar tracks using my PC. If I run both iTunes and the Guitar Port software simultaneously, it enables me to have a bit of a 'jam' with my digital music.

Now the really geeky part which you'll all no doubt appreciate (I know I did... lol) - I have the use of a proper RTA (real time analyser) so once all of the connections were made, I was able to use iTunes' built in equaliser to achieve a genuine flat line which made an incredible difference to the sound. It's amazing to compare a genuine flat line to what iTunes calls its own 'Flat' EQ setting which of course does not take into account the biases and characteristics of your hardware.

I really must get a proper spec up for my gear - but I'll wait until Xmas when I'm replacing half of it anyway and will no doubt have to start again with the RTAing process!!