Party Setup

maxpark3r

Sep 10, 2014
Visit site
HI, I'm currently looking for a much louder setup for hosting parties.
I currently have a Cambridge A5 vers2 paired with Technics SB CS90 speakers which I think are 200 watts. Making this a 400watt system if I'm correct?

I was wondering what the best plan of action would be for a loud system.

From ebay I gather there are various options, they seem to be:

Buy new dj speakers, 1200 watt (600 each)

Buy a system including amp with 1200 watt speakers (600 each)

Or buy speakers that have an interrated amp, on ebay one can be found by searching "2x Skytec 12" Active Disco PA Speakers Party DJ Sound System 2400W"

They also have a smaller version at 1200 watts.

I am very new to hifi and I don't really understand how to work out if an amp will power speakers. I know my current amp delivers 60watts per channel, so any advice on my best option and also how to work out the largest speakers I could get for an amp would be great.

scene

Hi and welcome to the forums!

How big are the parties? More spefically, how big a room, with how many people?

200W speakers are just that - 200W - a pair is still 200W (and I'm guessing that's max power, rather than RMS). Your amp is rated at 60W - which isn't hugely powerful for a party system. And it's the amp's power that is important here (unless you're going to get powered speakers). You could easily drive those speakers with an amp rated at 130-150W (RMS) and they'd be a lot louder.

1200W or 2400W active speakers will fill a pretty big venue. As they're active, you only need a pre-amp to drive them, not an integrated amp (like the A5). Active DJ speakers are designed to be rugged and durable - which is good if you're doing this as a job. They can take a bit more beer spillage, have rigid grilles to protect the speaker cones, and often come with carrying handles to lug them around.

What's your budget?

maxpark3r

Sep 10, 2014
Visit site

scene

maxpark3r said: