Novice looking for an upgrade

r1jones

Feb 4, 2008
Visit site
Hi
I'm new to all this so I'm in need of advice. I currently have a Roksan Kandy MkIII amp and Quad 11L speakers, connected with QED Silver Anniversary cable. I have had a cheap Philips CD player for almost 15 years and still use the interconnects that came with it! I've wanted to upgrade for some years as I'm clearly not getting the best out of the amp or speakers.

I don't want to spend more than approx. £750 for a CD player and can fork out a little more for decent interconnects. After reading several reviews I am drawn towards the Cyrus CD6SE which I can buy for £720

I intend to listen to any products before purchase but would first like to get other people's opinoins as to whether this would be a good match or would such an expensive CD player be wasted on my current kit. I'm not looking to buy new speakers yet but this could be an option in a few years.

Secondly, as I DJ for a hobby I still play a lot of vinyl and listen to digital music through vinyl emulation software. I have an old, ridiculously long phono cable from Tandy running between my mixer and amp. Can anyone recommend a decent cable I can get about 4-5m long and (assuming it would be an improvement) is it possible to change phono cables on Technics 1210 turntables?

I think that about covers it. Any help would be appreciated.

A

Anonymous

This is the cable I'd get if a 5m length is required:

clicky

A

Anonymous

I can't help you on the latter question but as for the other question, I would definitely look at playing your music through an external dac. Rip all of your cds to wav or flac and then either through a usb connection from your pc to the dac, a wireless connection from itunes to the AE, or optionally if you have a ps3 which has a quiet fan, rip your cd's to a lossless format and then save them to an external hdd, then connect the ps3 to the dac via an optical cable and phono cables connected to the amp.