Newbie question re: sound card and mixer configuration

wholepunch

Mar 2, 2015
Visit site
Hi there,

Im hoping someone more experienced with digital music setups can kindly help me out.

I’m very new to this so you’ll appreciate that my equipment won’t win any prizes, but I’ve been fairly careful selecting components, within budget of course.

I have a set of M-Audio AV40 active monitor speakers connected to the output of my Behringer Xenyx Q802USB mixer, into which I have my PC connected as a source via the Behringer USB interface (the mixer essentially appears as a sound card) and a Pro-Ject Elemental II turntable via a phono line-in.

I’m happy with how things sound, and have been buying, playing and recording new vinyl quite happily.

I also have a large collection of digital music, which I have recently started slowly replacing with high-quality downloads from hdtracks.co.uk.

My question is:

I know that the Behringer USB interface has a sample rate of 48Khz, and some of my new tracks are sampled at 192Khz. I know all of the well-trodden arguments about the validity of tracks of this quality, and whether humans can actually detect the difference etc etc, but it we can just take it as read that I want to play them at 192Khz, I think it’ll be easier J

So, 192Khz into 48Khz doesn’t go, so I’m not able to hear the unmolested higher quality tracks through my speakers when connected through my mixer desk, as is my understanding.

If, however, I buy a high quality PC sound card which supports 192Khz sampling, then bypass the Behringer CODEC by plugging the line-out of this soundcard to a line-in on the Behringer (therefore eliminating the Behringer USB interface entirely), will I pass the higher bitrate through to the main out and therefore my speakers?