Newbie help to select hi-fi set up

arjibarji

Nov 18, 2016
Visit site
Hi Guys, I am a newbie to hi-fi and wonder if you could assist please? I have a budget of £2000 to £3000 and looking to match and buy a hi-fi system. I am open to both used or new equipment. I love listening to jazz, classical and classic rock. My listing room is approx. 14.5 feet x 17 feet.

Looking for a CD/Amp/Speaker/Streaming setup. Should I go for a pre/power amp set up or a single box integrated amp? How do you match? Totally confused with the options. Do you have a recomded set-up at this price range? Any thoughts or comments to steer me in the right direction will be hugely appreciated? Many thanks.

jjbomber

arjibarji said:
Hi Guys, I am a newbie to hi-fi and wonder if you could assist please? I have a budget of £2000 to £3000 and looking to match and buy a hi-fi system. I am open to both used or new equipment. I love listening to jazz, classical and classic rock. My listing room is approx. 14.5 feet x 17 feet.

Looking for a CD/Amp/Speaker/Streaming setup. Should I go for a pre/power amp set up or a single box integrated amp? How do you match? Totally confused with the options. Do you have a recomded set-up at this price range? Any thoughts or comments to steer me in the right direction will be hugely appreciated? Many thanks.

Oppo BDP-103EU for CD and streaming. It will do DVDs as well, just in case you buy any concerts. Price is £499.

Heed Obelisk Si (mark iii) for amplifier. Full price is £1,290 but a couple of ex-demo units are available at £815.

Kef LS50 speakers. £800 + £100 for suitable speakers.

It may be a bit light in the bass for classic rock, in which case you can add the Heed X2 Power Supply. £730.

There are so many choices you really MUST audition a shortlist of the suggestions you will receive.

seemorebtts

Feb 2, 2013
Visit site