New system recommendations and advice

G

Hi all,

Please bear with me, I'm new to the world of hifi systems.

I want to build myself a system for as little cost as I can get away with to begin with, with a view to upgrade componant as more spending money becomes available. But I don't really know where to start - please be gentle! I've seen all sorts of articles on the internet but can't really find what I'm looking for.

It's for a small flat's open plan living room/kitchen of no more than 8 metres x 5 metres with a ceiling height of no more than 3 metres. There isn't a huge amount of space available so I need to think as compact as possible.

Please, if anyone can recommend the most suitable type of amplifier? I'm told that an intergrated amp would fit the bill best but I suppose this is where most of my concerntration should be.

Any advice on speakers would be appreciated, too.

I need a CD player. Can I get away with a fairly cheap and cheerful CD player? Again, any recommendations.

A DAB tuner would be a must.

I would also need a turntable too.

I don't really know where to start so I don't really know how much I'd need to spend. Like I said, I'd like to keep things to a minimum price and understand that I'll need to sacrifice quality.

I apologise for being so vague but any help to get me started would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

nima

Jan 15, 2014
Visit site
willh said:
I want to build myself a system for as little cost as I can get away with to begin with, with a view to upgrade componant as more spending money becomes available.

My advice is not to buy with a view to upgrade. Buy once and in a way that you can than forget about whole hi-fi universe. Rather buy an amp, CDP and speakers now and add a tuner and TT as funds allow. Others will be around with suggestions.

DocG

May 1, 2012
Visit site
Hi Will, and welcome! :)

Quite a challenge you have there!