Naim Nait XS

arashid

Nov 27, 2008
Visit site
I just purchased a Naim Nait XS amp. I auditioned it compared to a UNITI and the XS sounded smoother.

However the midrange is a bit muted compared to the Uniti, and I was told it would open up with the break in period.

Is this correct? I hope it does, because although the Uniti is less smooth as an amp, the midrange is clearer and I have a week to decide whether I want to keep the XS or buy a Uniti.

Please advise....

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
The XS is a more refined sounding amp than the Nait 5i or naimuniti but it should not sound 'warm'. I have some experience of hearing the Nait XS. Nait 5i and the naimuniti but have only ever heard the Nait XS with a Naim CD5X and a Rega P2 turntable with Ortofon 2M blue cartridge.

Did you compare the XS and the naimuniti with the same louspeakers in the same room? If not, then this will massively skew the comparison.

Of course - in the naimuniti - the CD/tuner sources are all Naim. So what is the Nait XS amp's source when you are comparing it with the naimuniti? This will influence the sound you get from the XS.

T

the record spot

Unless there's something miraculous in the Naim XS that's not in another amp, then it should power up, be running at its optimum temperature in an hour and ticking over nicely by the end of the day. Burn-in running into the days/weeks/months I have my doubts over.

Your ears get used to the sound and that's it after months or years of listening to the gear it replaced.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
I was trying to dodge the 'burn-in' subject.

I believe this all comes down to the basic difference between the character of the XS and the Nait5i/naimuniti sound. (And/or different demo speakers/different sources/different rooms if that were the case.)

I think those differences would still be apparent with examples that had only been playing for an hour or so (or enough to warm-up).