Moving house - please help choosing some old school gear!

iainwilliams1

Aug 1, 2013
Visit site
Hi guys,I'm new to this but here it goes...

I'm soon to be moving house and will finally have the space and some (limited) funds to get myself some gear. I quite like the sound of my Dad's set-up so I'll give you a list of what he's got:

Marantz CD-65 MkII SE

Creek 4040s Amp

B & W DM602 S3 speakers

Budget is probably £200 Max. for cdp and amp. I'll see what I have left to blow on speakers after that. I'm quite into retro stuff, and quite like the sound and vibe of late 80s/early 90s Japanese stuff, plus it seems pretty good value. It doesn't necessarily have to be mind-blowing, just something pretty decent for the money.

I've done a bit of research on cdp's, and will give you a list of stuff for sale nearby that has taken my fancy:

Marantz CD-65 MkII SE like my dad's

Marantz CD-50

Marantz cd-56;

Marantz CD-63 MKII KI

Rotel RCD-855

Phillips CD371

Arcam Alpha +

I'm probably swaying between the first two as it stands. Any thoughts?

As for amplifiers should I try and find a Creek? I was also thinking of going for a technics. I know they aren't the best thing ever but they are quite cheap and my mate has a su-a600 and I quite like it. Nearby there is a Technics SU-a600 mk3 and an SU-a700mk3. Also saw a very cheap SU-470. Any thoughts?

As for speakers, any suggestions for quite cheap (preferrably bookshelf) late80s/mid90s would be much appreciated, although I don't know my budget for them yet.

Many thanks!

Macspur

May 3, 2010
Visit site
iainwilliams1 said:
Hi guys,I'm new to this but here it goes...

I'm soon to be moving house and will finally have the space and some (limited) funds to get myself some gear. I quite like the sound of my Dad's set-up so I'll give you a list of what he's got:

Marantz CD-65 MkII SE

Creek 4040s Amp

B & W DM602 S3 speakers