Low volume playing vinyl on a Thorens T160 through a Sony HiFI.

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Afternoon, i am new to Turntables and have recently purchased a Thorens T160. I have not bought an AMP yet as i thought i would be able to play it through a Sony HiFi i have. I beleve i have the right set up in place on the turntable as the quality seems ok to my ears, but the the volume coming the HIFI speakers is low. I can hear it ok, but in comaprison to a CD playing in the HIFI it is nowhere near the same volume level.

It is a case of needing a preamp or an AMP as opposed to using the Sony HIFI and thornes turntable if the two are just no comaptible for high volume.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

regards

Eightbadgers

B

BIGBERNARDBRESSLAW

I'm guessing your Sony doesn't have a specified phono input, so it doesn't have a phono pre-amp built in. You either need to get a phono pre-amp like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rega-Fono-Mini-A2D-Pre-Amplifier/dp/B0072RZ95U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361711642&sr=8-1 , or buy an amp with built in phono stage.

ps. You can get cheaper than the Rega, but I just used this as an example of what you need.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
If you are using an amp without a dedicated phono input (or without a seperate phono pre-amp/phono stage) then I am also a little concerned about whether you know how to set up the arm and cartridge. (Cartridge alignment, setting up correct tracking force and anti-skate, ground lead connection etc.)

Feel free to ask the most basic questions regarding any of the above before you damage any vinyl or a stylus.

There are quite a few people here with turntable set up skills and even a few with Thorens turntables who can help.

A

Anonymous

Thank you for your reply, i have just checked and the HiFI has MD & Video options along with the usual CD, Tape and Tuner. I placed the Thorens input leads into the MD slots.