Looking to convert from 2.0 older system to new 5.1 surround sound

frogcarmichael

Sep 22, 2013
Visit site
Hiya

My current set up is about 10 years old; NAD C320 BEE amp, with a pair of KEF Q1s. I feed my iPOD through the amp, with music at a minimum bit rate of 320kbs.I’m happy with the quality of the music, but better is always good J. In particular, I like my bass tight with real drive and love really expressive vocals. I listened to a friend’s high level set up and really like the detail on guitars he was able to uncover as well

So, I am looking at getting a surround sound system (AV receiver, 5.1 speakers) as part of a rework of the house. This system will be running TV, DVD and Bluray, as well as music, streamed from my computer. Budget is in the region of 3k –ish, with a little bit of room left over. It is the music part that I am most interested in getting right.

So, questions. I am not an expert but willing to learn. I’ve lurked on a few forums to get a general idea, but could do with some clarification on a few points.

Taking things from the source onwards for music. The music stream will be, clearly, digital. When am I best converting it (min bit rate 320kps) to analogue? Is it best to let the receiver do this, or am I going to get a significant jump in quality using a separate DAC and then bypassing as much of the AV electronics using a “pure direct” mode, or some such? Are DACs on AV receivers any good for music?

Whichever way I go, I want to have easy control of the streaming, via an app on Android or equivalent.

If I am looking for at least as good as sound as I have now from my NAD, what sort of range receiver do I need to be looking at, about £1000 (forums tell me AV receivers can produce music results equivalent to amps at 25% of their price)? Or am I going to be better off getting a receiver with preouts and putting it through the old NAD for music?