Just dont get how to split sound from HDMI

oxbose

Jun 25, 2009
Visit site
Hi, Can someone help? Im probably overlooking something simple but I just dont get it..

I have a beautiful 36" CRT at the moment with awesome DVD player recommended by WHIFI and have coax output on DVD player to BOSE lifestyle 12 input. I guess a lot of you will moan at the bose but it just sounds quite nice i think. I am far from an expert!

We are moving into a new house, wifes idea :(. So it looks like I will go down the route of flat panel. I dont care what ratings the experts give on flat panel, not one of them will beat my CRT tv at SD, unless somebody else knows otherwise! Anyway I digress! I think I have decided on the 7 series Samsung LED. Saw it in a show room and it blew me away on Blu Ray.

My question is audio. How do I get audio to my stereo set up through a HDMI. In my mind I have a SCART going to the TV and a COAX going to the stereo, but things are different now....arent they??

I understand that I am going to have to udpate my sound system as the legacy bose does not have HDMI input, but can someone please explain in laymans, how I take a blu ray output (both picture and sound) and place them in their respective places. I would be shocked if there was just one output HDMI that went straight to the TV and relied on the TV to play the sound. I just dont get it... I want sound going to my hifi, and picture to the monitor. I have searched everywhere on the net but am lost.....

Please help ARRRgghhh!!! Thx Oxbose

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Basically, in order to get sound out of Blu-Ray using the HDMI connection into a sound system, you need one which has an HDMI input. The Blu-Ray is then connected directly into the sound system via HDMI and the sound system then has an HDMI output which transfers the picture to the TV.