iPod - song capacity

jimdonnelly

Jun 22, 2007
Visit site
I am thinking of buying the iPod Classic 160GB. I have approximately 1000 cds that I would like to download on to it. I know that the best format is a lossless file and that this takes up substantial storage space, but I have no idea how much.

Is lossless much better that 320kbps?

Will a 160GB memory hold 1000 cds in lossless format?

If yes will I have space for anything else?

I am new to the iPod arena and would appreciate any advice you can offer. Cheers

A

Anonymous

Im not a total expert on everything that you have asked but ill tell you what I know.

Apple lossless can fluctuate anywhere between 900 and just over 1100kbps (on my iPod) this is down to the complexity of each song. However it can drop lower if the songs are less complex.

I think that an uncompressed song on a CD is 1411kbps, and I have also heard that when you import your songs into iTunes using Apple Lossless you should expect to loose roughly 45% of the bitrate. Although from my experience iv lost between 30 and 40% of the bitrate.

So when you put a CD into your disc drive and view it in iTunes before importing it, it will say how many MB the disc contains (where it say the amount of time on the disc etc) at the bottom of the screen you then need to knock off between 30 and 40% of the size in MB.

jimdonnelly

Jun 22, 2007
Visit site
Thanks ben_12, that is useful information. I asked an "expert" in a large retailer - I left the shop quickly as I knew more that they did (which is a worry). I then called Apple who cut me off. A visit to the Apple store was not much better.

I am getting very frustrated with this and I am close to abandoning the idea of buying and iPod as I cannot establish if it will suit my needs. Not exactly a good way of selling their products!

jimdonnelly

Jun 22, 2007
Visit site
Can anyone else offer an opinion. This is driving me mad!
emotion-6.gif

A

Anonymous

[quote user="jimdonnelly"]