High quality 2 channel Hi-Fi or 5.1 AV system - how do you choose?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I will be setting up a system at home at some near future. My question is for people who don't have the space/can't afford to spend a few grand on a top-notch 2-channel Hi-Fi system AND an excellent 5.1 AV system at the same time. How do you go about the choice? (I am new to the world of hi-fi separates…)

Option 1 would be to get a small hi-fi system (all-in-one for a bedroom) and go crazy on a high-quality 5.1 or 7.1 AV system… but will AV receivers with good speakers match a true hi-fi amp sound quality? (such as Onkyo 606 with Monitor Bronze range 5.1 setup)

Option 2 would be to get a modest 5.1 av system with small speakers but get a high-quality hi-fi setup and run them separately.

Option 3 would be to try to combine the two in some fashion - get both an AV receiver and a Hi-Fi amplifier, wire digital output into the Amp and supplement the L and R from the Hi-Fi with rears and sub from the AV receiver. But is this overkill?

Curious as to how you go about this…considering space and budget limitations. As there are many other configurations - would like to hear your suggestions.

John Duncan

Well it depends on the balance of music/movie playing. I would go with option 3 since I lean more towards music, and would be quite happy adding a s/h 50 quid receiver for occasional movie use to supplement a top notch stereo setup.

I'm bolstered in this view by having always found surround sound a bit underwhelming, and being 90% as happy listening in top quality stereo.

So, which is more important to you - music or film?

Gerrardasnails

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
chainrock: