HI-FI Receiver

matthewpiano

They can be.

It stands to reason that if you spend £350 on 2 channels of amplification pr £350 on 7.1 channels of amplification you are going to get better quality with the 2-channel product. There is also some truth in the fact that stereo amps are set up for music, whereas multi-channel receivers have a different job to do.

However, some of them can sound very musical. The Sony £1k+ STR-DA2400ES is an extremely musical piece of kit and would certainly stand up against a £300-£400 integrated for music whilst doing a superb job for home cinema duties. Similarly there are products from Yamaha and Denon that can achieve similar standards.

A

Anonymous

What about the Chinese ones? i'm new to this and in the near future i would like to buy a better sound system...thanks

A

Anonymous

First thing to do is decide on a budget.

Also post the sort of room you are in ie. dimensions and if your going to be able to place speakers far away from walls etc. In home cinema the majority of your sound comes from the front. It is rare that you will be able to appreciate and get the real surround effect in a home cinema unless it is set up correctly.

Most of the time a stereo set up will give you a more enjoyable and more authentic reproduction of sound.

scene

Some av receivers are good for hi fi. for example, an Arcam AVR500 is very good at reproducing music. it's also fairly expensive...