Help with Onkyo 605 connectivity

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am new to modern systems having just replaced my 6 year old Sony Trinitron and home cinema in a box.

I now have a Panasonic 42 PX70 and have just bought a PS3 and an Onkyo 605 with Kef 205 speakers. I also have a BT V Box which I have connected to the 605 with a QED HDMI lead and also the PS3 and have allocated the HDMI locations 1 & 2.

My problem is that whilst I am able to view and hear the PS3 and V box I can't get the TV to output sound from its own tuner to the surround speakers. It is connected with AV leads to the 605 TV audio in. I am obviously missing something simple and obvious - but what? Any help would be appreciated. Also all sound out from the PS3 seems to be PCM - is that correct?

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
Is the receiver set to accept analogue input on the TV audio input, and do you have a standard stereo analogue pair connecting TV to that input? You may have to go into input assign and check the set-up.

And yes, sound from the PS3 should be in PCM.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the reply Andrew. I'm still very much a "virgin" with the 605 but do you mean go into the TV's audio assign as I was not aware there was an audio assign on the 605 other than the HDMI which I had already allocated. The leads I am using are Profigold AV leads.

Sorry to be so inept!!!

A

Anonymous

Thanks for your help Andrew - I followed your advice and the sound is now coming out perfectly - easy when you know how!!!

Thanks again.

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
Glad we could help, and can't wait to get my new widescreen computer monitor so I can have several manuals open on screen at once while on these forums!

The answer is usually to be found in the manual somewhere, but some manufacturers do a better job than others of hiding the relevant information...

emotion-12.gif