HD audio via Analogue cables

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi Help please,

I have read previous topics and understand that as i have an 'old' amp which can not decode HD audio i can only obtain HD audio via analogue cables is this correct, also as i am new to the home cinama scene could any one clarify which cables i would need (any recomendations). If i connected via an optical cable would i only receive DD?

Any advice would be really appriciated as i hope to set my new kit up next week

Thanks - great mag!!

Chisy1

Aug 13, 2008
Visit site
Yes, but you will need a bluray player that can decode and output via analogue cables. ÿThe sony S550 and pana bd55 have this capability - and probably some others but none spring to mind. ÿIf you connected via optical then you would only get either DD or DTS and not the HD audio.ÿ

ÿ

I think you just need phono cables - I have seen another thread on this website which has links of suggested cables, but can't find it at the moment

ÿ

Chisyÿ

A

Anonymous

so i`m lead to believe your blu ray player has to be able to decode the new hd codecs on board,then are sent through the amp via analogue leads approx 6 of them i think, but i am not 100% sure if you would get true hd this way.i`m in the same position would like the arcam avr350 as nothing can touch it in stereo but it doesn`t have all the new hd codecs. hope this helps, try these

http://markgrantcables.co.uk/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=43_1&products_id=1

A

Anonymous

http://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=40821