Harbeth Super HL5 or MS Performance 6?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi, I am from Singapore. Finally can afford to setup a music room for myself. Just bought a Primare integrated amp I-30 & now looking for a pair of matching speaker. Got a chance to audition Harbeth with my Primare, love the clean & uncoloured sound. Saw alot of great reviews on MS Performance 6 but unfortunately, no audition is available in Singapore. Both are priced about the same here. Frankly, I am tempted to buy the MS even without audition. Thought of seeking some advice before making that leap. Thank you.

A

Anonymous

This might not really answer you questions but, here it goes anyways.

I have been auditioning the HL5 for a few months now, mainly with MA2275. This is so far the best combo i have come across in a very long time! I have had the Primare I30 & CD31paired with Studio 140 and this was a beautiful match as well. Don't have experience with Performance 6. I believe Clare is having a Performance 6 setup. May be she can help you.

Oh, i think one of our fellow members "debt_collector" is having a pair of HL5 powered by Brystons (?)

Always insist on an audition before taking that leap. Only you can tell if any combo, be it highly praised or poorly reviewed, appeals to your listening habits.

Happy hunting!

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the quick response. Yes, the Studio 140 was originally on my audition list but didn't happen as I found it was priced relatively high (in UK, it is about 41% of the MS Performance 6 whereas in Singapore, it is priced at 67%). I agree that audition is important but the MS is too tempting. Haha. Hope to hear what Clare or others have to say...

Note : Strange! Somehow the MS Performance 6 isn't as well-known in Singapore.

vinod_david

Nov 18, 2007
Visit site