Good budget speaker cables

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I am new to hifi and I know nothing about speaker cables

I own an Onkyo TX8050 amp and Tannoy v4 speakers. Which relatively non-expensive speakers would you recommend?

Thanks!

Martin

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
You could try some

- Van Damme UP LC-OFC here: http://www.vdctrading.com/content.asp?SubsectionID=30

- Atlas Element 2: http://www.petertyson.co.uk/ebuttonz/ebz_product_pages/atlas_element_2.0_speaker_cable.shtml?googlecpc

- Chord Silver Screen : http://www.exceptional-av.co.uk/product.php?fdProductId=221

- QED 79 Strand: http://www.audiovisualonline.co.uk/product/2709/qed-79-strand-speaker-cable/?utm_source=Froogle&utm_medium=Froogle&utm_content=QED79%20-1M-94382&utm_campaign=Froogle

Nb. Make sure you ask for a "terminated" price, if that's what you want.

T

the record spot

I use 400-strand OFC cable which I bought 6 metres of from Maplin. £18. Or, go to Ebay and buy some 322-strand for about a fiver for 10 metres from the likes of Digitalis Direct. I use 400-strand with my 8050 and my Tannoys and it works a treat.

Captain Duff

Jul 26, 2012
Visit site
Yes, agree with above. Also keep an eye on ebay as there is always ex-dem stuff from shops, or s/h cables from the regular cable 'upgraders' so you could get a bargain there. I'm using some Gale 315 that I got s/h for about a fiver for 10m and it works a treat, no point in my humble opinion paying silly money here at all.

davidpr

Apr 11, 2011
Visit site
All the above are good ideas and you can add Black Rhodium Twist to the list as well. I would not spend more than 6 pounds per metre for new cable but that is my opinion and others will have their own opinion. However it is down to you and what sounds good to you.

BrusselsHifi said:
Hi,

I am new to hifi and I know nothing about speaker cables

I own an Onkyo TX8050 amp and Tannoy v4 speakers. Which relatively non-expensive speakers would you recommend?

Thanks!

Martin