Filling Partington Super Dreads with Atabites

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello

I have my B&W 685s mounted on Partington Super Dreadnoughts. I am looking to put some Atacama Atabites into them in a bid to get even better sound from them (they already sound very good to me).

Was just wondering if anyone had experience with filling these with Atabites? The 9kg (20 lbs) buckets are quite expensive here in Australia ($130 each - approx 80 pounds) so I was thinking just one bucket for each stand, distributed equally (to the same height)amongst the 4 tubes and the center column.

I was hoping to avoid sand as I heard it can leak a bit and figured the dense Atabites may be better in that regard.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks

David

Chewy

Feb 10, 2010
Visit site
Don't quote me as I'm not an expert on this, but I doubt you would notice any sonic difference between using the Atabites and plain old silica sand, the latter being available for less than a 10th of the former.

Ultimately all you are trying to do is add mass to the speaker stand, whilst filling any cavaities, both of which should reduce any vibrations and provide a more stable platform for your speaker.

jiggyjoe

Aug 21, 2010
Visit site
I filled my partington trophys with 1 tub of atabytes and it only came about 1/2 way up!!! I think because your stands have a large section in the middle you would need a minimum a 2.

A

Anonymous

jiggyjoe:I filled my partington trophys with 1 tub of atabytes and it only came about 1/2 way up!!! I think because your stands have a large section in the middle you would need a minimum a 2.

You only need one 9kg tub to fill both of your partington super dreads, and you will have a little left over in case of spilage.

all the best

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site