Denon DP-35F

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I've just aquired the above player and have no prior experience with Vinyl at all. I was just wondering if this is a good/decent player or not? I have read some threads on other sites regarding it, but haven't come across one on WhatHiFi. I have also managed to blag about 300 LP's from an old school library that was closing down with some absolute gems included (Led Zep, The Who, Jeff Beck, Elvis, Bryan Ferry (optional!) Rory Gallaghar etc.) all in mint condition, wrapped in plastic and what seem to be, next to never been played. A good start to a vinyl collection methinks!

Cheers and apologies for the complete novice question.

A

Anonymous

Ok, so that answers that question!

Since listening to a few of the albums on said player the speakers will sporadically cut out. Sometimes the left, sometimes the right. I've tried switching from A to B speaker connects but still no change. The lp's were quite dusty to begin with, but I've cleaned them the best I can. Would dust on the needle cause sound to cut out from one of the speakers? Could there be a problem with the connections on the AMP (also an old, second hand Pioneer A-221).

Again, as you can tell, pretty clueless here like, so any help would be greatly apprecieated.

Cheers.

lindsayt

Apr 8, 2011
Visit site
Dust on the needle could cause a massive amount of distortion, or it might make the needle jump out of the groove and go skating towards the inside of the record where it would start playing the label. It wouldn't cause 1 channel to drop out.

Most likely cause of channel drop-out is a fault with the amp. Try borrowing a different amp to check this. The amp might be fixable with the help of some contact cleaner. If it's not an amp fault it'll be a dodgy connection / bit of wiring somewhere.

To find out whether the DP-35F is decent or not, why don't you compare it with another turntable, preferably one with a similar quality cartridge in it?