Complete novice needs cabling advice

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Please, anybody who knows what they're talking about...

I bought a panasonic TX32-LZD80 today. I have never bought any kind cable beyond a standard scart and need advice.

I have the TV, standard virgin cable and Sony RDR-HX900 dvd recorder all hooked up using basic scart leads. I intend to get a PS3 soon and will use a WHSAV recomended HDMI with that. But am just confused about what to do for the best with the virgin and the sony. Can I do better than scart connections with this kit or is it a case of getting a better scart?

I am a little concerned about the quality of the SD images I am getting today (particularly with the football), I know the TV will probably shine with HD (when we can afford it) but wonder if more appropriate cabling might help the SD images inmprove.

Can anybody please advise?

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Your Sony has a component output which should give better pictures than Scart. Not sure on your Virgin box, if it has component, use this (the green, blue and red ports as shown below):

408jvc.2.jpg

Otherwise, RGB Scart is your best bet. A better Scart cable will more than likely improve your picture (certainly did for me). Also, have a look at the football on BBC1 tomorrow - the picture on ITV is notoriously bad for football due to the quality they broadcast in.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the advice, so it is a component lead that I need or failing that an RGB scart.

Just watched Cloverfield on DVD tonight, picture was fantastic so having second thoughts about the cabling. It appears there are a couple of QED's around £50 that review well. It is just getting my head round spending £50 on a cable that is the trouble, do you think a complete novice like me will be able to see the difference that an upgrade in cable would bring or is it just the expert viewer who could pick out the improvements?