Cabling Question

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all, I'm a new member to this great forum so be gentle!

I've recently bought the Marantz CD6004 & PM6004 paired with Q Acoustic 2020i speakers.

I was wondering what cabling would bring the best of this system? I am a complete novice regarding this so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

acalex

Sep 13, 2011
Visit site
TheRubberMan said:
Hello all, I'm a new member to this great forum so be gentle!

I've recently bought the Marantz CD6004 & PM6004 paired with Q Acoustic 2020i speakers.

I was wondering what cabling would bring the best of this system? I am a complete novice regarding this so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Welcome to the forum! I must say you didn't chose the easiest topic as your first one :rofl:

You will see people are more or less split between believers and not-believers regarding the effect of different cables on system. What in my opinion is best to do is to check with your usual shop if you can borrow a few cables and try by yourself.

If you can feel any difference then go for the one you like the most, if not than it's even better as you saved some money ;)

Sorry if I didn't answer completely to your question

Superaintit

Feb 8, 2009
Visit site
Just keep what you have or buy ofc copper speaker wire and a decent interconnect like a van damme (pro audio). All this will set you back about 20 pounds. IMO investing more gives marginal benefits whereas the money spent elsewhere (speakers, amp and to a certain extent CD players) gives much more sound per pound value.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the help acalex & superaintit, at the time of purchase I was given Cambridge Audio Ultra 100 speaker cable, I don't actually know what interconnecters I have but they are Cambridge Audio banana plugs. I will try and test a few cables and go from there. Thinking of getting a Mains Conditioner too as I have read that they give a boost in performance.