Burning in new speaker cables

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am a newbie here so hopefully this is a reasonable question...........

I have just bought some new speaker cables (Chord Oddysey 4 bi-wired) and was wondering what the recommendations are for burning them in. How long does it take and how do I do it? Do I leave the source switched on all night/day and, if so, is it affected by volume?

Thanks

Toon

A

Anonymous

It really doesn't do anything! As long as the cables have reached their optimum temperature (and hence resistivity), there is NO difference - it really is a silly proposal which makes hi-fi a laughing stock - just like sticking your cables in absolute-zero temperatures will improve them...it really is nonsense...

edit: Please don't start a debate on this one - science and ears will prove you wrong!

A

Anonymous

I don't think it makes a lot of difference, just use it as you would anyway and the system will slightly mature over time, I like to think of it as an organic process....

A

Anonymous

Thanks - it seems I have got off to a bad start by asking a stupid question.

I will try to think of more sensible questions in the future and switch the hi-fi off for now
emotion-10.gif

margetti

May 29, 2008
Visit site
Not a stupid question - as much as I wholeheartedly agree with the replies above, many manufacturers do state that sound quality will improve after a "burning in period" - Atlas said the very thing on the interconnects I bought a couple of weeks ago...

A

Anonymous

I agree - not a stupid question at all. There are many people who will practically go to fists defending the opposite of what was said above. Personally I really don't think 'burning in' speaker cables will make any real difference; but as with all things subjective we each have and are entitled to our own opinions.

A

Anonymous

Toon1526:

I will try to think of more sensible questions in the future and switch the hi-fi off for now
emotion-10.gif