Blue ray display size problem

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am new to this so am probably asking a stupid question but here goes anyway.

My new blueray player is outputting a picture with black bands top and bottom whenever I play a dvd disc and with some blue ray discs. However my copy of the "Planet Earth" in blue ray is displayed full screen. I have tried changing settings on the dispay but whenever the player starts the picture reverts to a letter box. Am I missing a setting somewhere or is this something peculiar to my player? My dvd player used to output everything at full screen so I am at a loss as to what needs changing, TV settings or Blue Ray player settings?

Equipment is all Pioneer; Player is BDP- LX71 , Av amplifier is SC-lx71 Display is PDP-436XDE

A

Anonymous

You are not missing anything. That was the intension of the director and that's how you will see it sonny boy.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for your interest guys I appreciate it.

I will re read the manuals and try again but I am still at a loss as to why a movie that always played full screen on DVD is now showing as wide screen.

ElectroMan

Nov 20, 2008
Visit site
Does the aspect ratio look okay, or does it look squashed or stretched as well as having black bands?

And does the box say the aspect ratio is 2.35:1? If so, then even if it's anamorphic then it should display with black bands.

Maybe you could name some of the discs affected.

(P.S. You'd get more attention to this if you posted it under Home Cinema or TVs and Projectors!)

A

Anonymous

Thanks for the interest and advice Electroman.

All my standard Definition DVD collection seem to play on new player as letterbox shape but no distortion although on the previous Pioneer player they all filled the screen.

Blue ray discs Planet Earth display is 16.9 and screens at 1080i filling screen

Band of Brothers blue ray 16.9 (1.78:1 on box) displays as letterbox

Seems like I might just have to live with it.

Tonya

Sep 9, 2008