best headphones for opera/classical music?

asjd

Feb 17, 2015
Visit site
Hello everyone, I'm a relative newbie when it comes to high end audio, so forgive me if I don't have all the vocabulary down yet. Basically, I'm wondering if anyone can give me advice for what the best headphones would be for listening to classical vocal music, i.e., opera, art songs etc.

I'm a big opera fan but basically I've been listening through my cheap Sony headphones for years, i.e., the ones I use when I go jogging. so I've decided to invest in a better pair to really get the most out of it.

I've been trying to do some research as best as I can, and I've been thinking about a pair of Sennheiser headphones. The only problem is whenever I read reviews, I have no idea what kind of music it is that they're talking about. For example, for me the most important thing is the clarity of being able to hear the voices, i.e., I don't really care about bass. And presumably some headphones that are best for rock probably won't be best for classical and vice-a-versa.

Anyway, if anyone could recommend me some headphones that are good for opera, I would really appreciate it. I'm willing to spend up to about $300, although if possible I would of course love to spend less. They don't need to be portable. Also I live alone so if they are open then that is fine as well.

many thanks in advance!

Becky_Roberts

Jan 22, 2014
Visit site
Hi asjd

Can I ask what source you'll be using the headphones with: a portable music player/smartphone or a hi-fi system of sorts? Would you prefer over or on ears? And will you use it more in the home or on-the-go? There's more things to think about when buying headphones than you might think :)

I could give you more specific recommendations with these answers, though if you're after generally great-sounding headphones, can I suggest you take a look at these: