Beginners turntable setup. Any advice appreciated!

LarsPetersen

Jul 14, 2013
Visit site
Hey Everybody,

Completely new to this forum - so bear with me.

First off.. I'm a total newbie to the wonderful world of turntables. Even though it might seem strange, I've been collecting vinyls for a couple of years now and occasionally enjoyed them together with friends that own turntables. Finally I'm able to afford a decent beginners setup in order to enjoy my growing collection.

I've been gathering information for the past couple of weeks and spend the better part of 10-15 hours reading about which equipment to invest in. I'm on a fairly low budget and want to spend my money right - without having to regret my purchases and know I got a good starting setup to last for many years. Furthermore I very much believe in recycling and see no reason why I should buy brand new hifi equipment. I very much want to buy second hand. I live in Denmark and the market here is somewhat narrow since we're a small nation. And getting stuff shipped here is quite expensive I guess - so I try to be patient and by the right stuff once it shows up.

The music I listen to ranges from 70's classic rock to psych rock, over the slow and heavy genres of stoner rock and so-called "doom". Basically rock and metal and the occasional classical, folk and acoustic music.

My combined bedroom/living room is going to be the scene of my vinyl-listening. It's not very big - around 200 sq ft / 18 m2.

The setup I've been looking at and put together from various reviews and pages like this one is as follows:

Rega Planar 3 TT - haven't paid much attention to which cartridge yet..

Dali Zensor 1 speakers to be put on my wall.

Rotel RA-930AX integrated amplifier

All of this stuff I've found used - haven't bought any of it yet though. Thought I'd get some inputs before I do. I have no clues as to which components go well together and if they at all are recommendable my musical taste taken into consideration.