ASIO with Musical Fidelity V-DAC

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi guys!

I am just about to take possession of a V-DAC; my system will look like this:

Acer Aspire One > V-DAC > NAD C326BEE > Mission m73

The Acer is running Windows XP. I'm new to whole PC-based hi-fi thing... I mean, I've been playing WMAs as background music whilst I work, but now I want to get my hi-fi streaming audio from my NAS. (My CD collection will be re-ripped as FLAC. I'm planning on using MediaMonkey.)

So, I have a few questions! I'm hoping there are people here who've been down this path before who can offer a little advice. :)

1a. ASIO. With Windows XP, am I right in thinking that I'll need to install third-party drivers? (Are they built-in with Windows 7?)

1b. If so, which are the best drivers to go for?

2. I'm planning on using the netbook's Wi-Fi for streaming the audio. This should give plenty of bandwidth, right?

3. If I'm connected to the V-DAC using ASIO via USB, am I right in thinking that things like revert effects, equalizer, and even the volume control in MediaMonkey will be inactive? (As the bits will be going straight to the DAC without any processing.) (This is what I want!)

Thanks very much! This should be an exciting process. :)

A

Anonymous

Good call!

1a/b. Yes. I tried ASIO4ALL to add an ASIO device to your system, and a plugin dll (see the MM site for the link to a site where it can be downloaded) to use it from MM. Not standard in W7. Big but: never been able to get gapless playback with ASIO and MM! I use wave_out and that works very well (no difference with ASIO to my ears).

2. Yep

3. Think so yes. Anyway, these effects are easy to disable, avoiding processing.

Although I like MM they are very slow in releasing a working WASAPI plugin (like foobar already has) for Vista/7. Which is annoying, and for an audio-only player rather strange.

A

Anonymous

Thanks, Pete! :)