Arcam Solo Mini v NaimUnitiQuite

MattL2009

Apr 11, 2010
Visit site
I'm just after general advice, I know the only way to really judge is to listen. I understand the difference between the house styles on Arcam and Naim is that Arcam is a little more laid back, whist Naim is more upfront. Because of size restrictions I need to go for a small unit, so it need to be one of these two. (On a cosmetic basis I prefer the uniti, I have nothing silver in the room!). Anyway, just some random thoughts/questions

1) Given that most of my music is currently on CD, would the solo mini be better? Does the sound of stuff transferred from CD get notably compromised on the Naim unit?

2) Given that I'm a technical novice, I assume I have to upload my CDs to my computer and then get my computer to talk to the unitiquite. Is this easy?

3) Is the Naim unit a better longer term investment, given the future of CD?

Any other advice or comments would help. The budget isn't really an issue.

Thanks

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
Hi Matt, I'll do what I can to help.

A good streamer should always sound better than a CDP at similar money. This is because, when you rip a CD, it can take its time and get a perfect rip, whereas a CDP is having to error correct in real time. There is also the fact that there isn't the inherent problems associated with having moving parts.

The best solution is to get a NAS and store your music on there (ripped by your PC using something like dB Poweramp ); or more expensively, something like a RipNas, which rips, stores and catalogues all in one independant unit. Good info here: https://www.ripcaster.co.uk/

I think any streamer is a better long term bet than CD. Don't just confine yourself to Naim; there are also great products from Linn, Cyrus and Olive (some quality problems).

Hope this helps

Cno

Matt