Amplifier recommendation for DM 603 S2 speakers

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm quite new to the Hi-fi world, actually trying to get together my first set at the moment. I've recently purchased a pair of BW DM 603 S2 speakers. Visually they are in very good condition and although I don't have a decent comparative reference point, I was really impressed by their sound while testing on the previous owners set!

Anyways, I'm looking for a second hand amplifier to power these speakers. I've been looking for NAD C370's on ebay but the ones that I liked jumped too high on the price. The fact that they are 10+ years old is also putting me down; I don't want to end up with a broken amp in a few years. I was almost buying a C372 but I decided not to, after reading some negative reviews about their reliability.

My budget is up to £200, but can increase a little bit if it's going to make a significant difference. I mainly listen electronic music and a bit of jazz (psytrance, ambient, chillout, IDM, psychill, psydub, nu jazz...) I don't listen too loud music for long intervals but I want the amplifier to produce enough power to 'drive' the 603's. The amp will be connected to a laptop at the begining, and I'll get a DAC in a month or two...

I'd really appreciate any advice and recommendations. Oh, and I want to buy the amp ASAP so 'save up some money and buy next month' isn't an option. I just can't stand listening to the crap 2.1 while I've got those babies standing in my lounge! : )

Cheers!

PS. Could Yamaha AS-500 justify these speakers?

tugrul said:
Hi all,

I'm quite new to the Hi-fi world, actually trying to get together my first set at the moment. I've recently purchased a pair of BW DM 603 S2 speakers. Visually they are in very good condition and although I don't have a decent comparative reference point, I was really impressed by their sound while testing on the previous owners set!